J.S. Bach — Selected Preludes and Fugues for the Piano

  • 流派:CLASSICAL古典
  • 语种:其他
  • 发行时间:2004-12-31
  • 唱片公司:Neil A. Kjos Music Company, Inc.
  • 类型:录音室专辑


Editor's Notes: "The Well-Tempered Clavier" is a collection of forty-eight preludes and fugues, in two volumes, by J. S. Bach. Each volume contains twenty-four preludes and fugues, one in each major and minor key. The dedication on the title page of the autograph manuscript expresses that these preludes and fugues are written "For the benefit of young musicians interested in learning, as well as for the enjoyment of those who have already achieved proficiency in this study." The preludes and fugues selected from "The Well-Tempered Clavier" for this collection are ideal for pianists who have achieved sufficient skill to begin the study of Bach's greatest contribution to keyboard literature. These nine scrupulously selected preludes and fugues represent the most consistently successful choices for students. A "prelude" is a composition intended to precede a larger work or group of pieces. Preludes often evolved from improvisations by musicians testing the tuning, touch, or tone of their instrument. In the Baroque period, a prelude followed by a fugue or a suite of dances became the most common type. A "fugue" is the most highly evolved style of imitative polyphonic music from the Baroque period. It was brought to perfection by J. S. Bach. Best wishes for endless musical satisfaction, Keith Snell Artist Notes: Pianist Hans Boepple is renowned for his brilliant teaching career. His students have won more than one hundred state, national, and international competitions. Deeply committed to teaching, Mr. Boepple has given Master Classes throughout the United States and is the Chairman of the Music Department at Santa Clara University in California. Mr. Boepple also enjoys a distinguished career as a pianist and has appeared with many outstanding orchestras, including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra, Denver Symphony, and the Metropolitan Opera House Orchestra. Mr. Boepple earned his Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from Indiana University where he was a student of Sidney Foster. His pre-college teacher was Robert Turner of Los Angeles.