Back to Class

  • 语种:其他
  • 发行时间:2012-08-27
  • 唱片公司:Pax Productions, LLC
  • 类型:录音室专辑


"Back to Class" is the debut record of soul drummer Drew Schultz. Drew entered the scene at the age of 19, cutting his teeth over a course of five years with legendary Motown group The Four Tops. Touring the world as percussionist, drummer, archivist, and substitute conductor for the group, Drew got the chance to perform with many legendary artists including The Temptations, Aretha Franklin, The Dramatics, The Miracles, The Contours, Harold Melvin's Bluenotes, and countless others. Many of the legendary artists he has worked with are on this record, which benefits the music programs of the Detroit Public Schools. All of the songs are original compositions written, performed, and arranged by Drew, featuring raw organic performances by a live band, horns, and singers. The artists on the record include: The Four Tops Members of The Funk Brothers Dennis Coffey Ken Knox of Chairmen of the Board Lenny Pickett of Saturday Night Live / Tower of Power Melvin Davis Spyder Turner Rob Carter of Nature's Divine Pat Lewis James Jamerson, Jr. Turhan (Earl Van Dyke Jr.) Joey Kingfish McKinley Jackson Chris Ams Elise McCoy Anna "Cartia" Carter Kyle Allen The Drew Schultz Funk Machine: Jent LaPalm Emilio Tostado Dan Sieling and more... **CREDITS:** Executive Producer: Drew Schultz Produced, Engineered, and Mixed by Steve Adams and Drew Schultz Recorded at SDA Studios, Mt. Clemens MI “Slouch Potato” Recorded at Sweatshop Studios, Katonah NY by Shaul & Edan Dover “Long Gone Love” & “So Many Fish In The Sea” Leads & Solos Recorded at Outspoken Records Studio with LeVar ‘Mista LG’ Gladden Mastered by Kevin Reeves at Sterling Sound, New York NY All songs written by Drew Schultz except "Slouch Potato" written by Drew Schultz, Emilio Tostado, Jent Lapalm, Dan Sieling "Sometimes" written by Drew Schultz, Devon Hawkins "Jamo" written by Drew Schultz, James Jamerson Jr, Steve Adams All Rhythm Section Arrangements by Drew Schultz All Horn Arrangements by McKinley Jackson except "So Many Fish In The Sea" Horn Arrangement by Drew Schultz Featuring The Funk Machine: Drew Schultz: Drums, Percussion, Keys, Background Vocals Jent LaPalm: Bass Emilio Tostado: Guitar Daniel Sieling: Guitar Additional Musicians: Steve Adams: Percussion Danny Tyrell: Organ, Piano Jack Johnson: Tenor Sax Goode Wyche: Bari Sax Charlie Miller: Trumpet Shane Lawrence: Trumpet John Raleeh: Trombone Elise McCoy: Background Vocals Dennis Sheridan: Congas on “Simple Words” Bill Engleman: Background Vocals on “Told You So” Mike Swain: Keyboard Solo on “Not Enough” Paul Shonk: Acoustic Guitar on “Shipwrecked” Turhan (Earl Van Dyke Jr): Bass on “Welcome Home Heartache"