Never Never Land

  • 流派:ELECTRONIC电子音乐
  • 语种:英语
  • 发行时间:2003-09-22
  • 唱片公司:Universal-Island Records Ltd.
  • 类型:录音室专辑


Never, Never, Land, finds James Lavelle with a new conspirator, singer/songwriter Richard File, a talented writer whose blasted yet sweet vocals unfortunately recall Dirty Vegas as much as Thom Yorke. Lavelle's vision for music is still in wide focus, replete with sweeping strings, driving breakbeat passages, and tender balladry (from File) as well as raging, angsty metal (from guest vocalist Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age). Massive Attack's 3D gets another chance to excoriate Blair and Bush on "Invasion," while Ian Brown shambles through another guest appearance on "Reign." Lavelle's interests and themes haven't changed drastically from Psyence Fiction, and with fewer star guests (anonymous contributions from Jarvis Cocker, Brian Eno, and Graham Gouldman notwithstanding), Never, Never, Land is a work of intense drama but little importance.